Islam is based solely on the Quran and Hadith and Sharia is the framework within which the private and public aspects of life are regulated. Quran is the Holy book of Muslims and was revealed to prophet Muhammad. Sunnah are the teachings and practices of prophet Muhammad. Hadith are traditional accounts where the Sunnah are recorded.

Teachings of the Quran and Hadith implemented in day to day life eliminate all problems from their root.

SHARIA (Framework)
Sharia Rules are derived from the Quran and Hadith and are classified into the following categories:

  • Obligatory - Fard (action that one must perform)
  • Recommended - Mustahabb (action that is recommended)
  • Permitted - Mubah (action that is allowed)
  • Disliked - Makruh (action that is disliked)
  • Forbidden - Haram (action that is forbidden)

Sharia is divided into Two Branches:
1. The Acts of Worship or Ibaadah (faith, prayer, fasting, charity and pilgrimage).
2. Human Interaction or Muamalaat which includes:

  • Foods and drinks (including ritual slaughtering and hunting)
  • Marriage, divorce and child custody
  • Laws of inheritance
  • Financial transactions
  • Endowments
  • Penal punishments
  • Warfare and peace
  • Judicial matters


There are Four Schools of Thought with very minor differences between them on practices of Islam.

The Hanafi school of thought is followed by the majority of Muslims around the world:

  • Hanafi
  • Maliki
  • Shafii
  • Hanbali

More information on these Four Schools of Thought is available on the Islamic Books page.

Copyright And Trademark - True Islam Now